Cancel OK

PMA confirms 2019-2020 Board of Directors


PRESS RELEASE Anaheim, CA – The 2019-2020 Produce Marketing Association BB #:153708 Board of Directors took office October 17th during PMA’s 2019 Fresh Summit Convention & Expo in Anaheim, California, USA. New Chair Joe Don Zetzsche, director of floral and BLOOMS, H-E-B, San Antonio, Texas, USA, is joined on the board by six other officers and 32 directors.

“I am excited for the opportunity to collaborate with a diverse group of female and male industry leaders from around the global on the PMA Board, which includes representation from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Mexico, New Zealand and South Africa,” said Joe Don Zetzsche during his address at Fresh Summit. “It will be through the thought partnership of the Board, which spans multiple georgraphies and ethnicities, that I promise we will deliver more value to members in the year ahead.”

In addition to Zetsche, officers elected to the 2019-2020 PMA board include:
• Chair-Elect: Dwight Ferguson, chief executive officer/president, Naturipe Farms LLC, Salinas, California, USA
• Secretary-Treasurer: Doug Grant, executive vice president & chief operating officer, The Oppenheimer Group, British Columbia, Canada
• Past Chair: David Marguleas, chief executive officer, Sun World, LLC, Coachella, California, USA
• Vice Chair: Jacob Krempel, director of produce & grocery procurement, HelloFresh, New York, New York, USA
• Vice Chair: Ruth McLennan, vice president produce/floral/cold storage, Dairy Farm, Quarry Bay, Hong Kong
• Center for Growing Talent Board Chair: Marty Craner, chief executive officer, B&C Fresh Sales, Orange, California, USA

“PMA is blessed to have a strongly engaged and invested group of volunteers from across the global produce and floral communities – ranging from our Board of Directors to numerous committees and task forces – to help guide and influence our strategic priorities,” said PMA CEO Cathy Burns. “I am incredibly excited to work with the new Board as we continue to deliver new member value throughout the year ahead.”

The following industry leaders will serve on the 2019-2020 PMA Board of Directors:
• Joe Ange, purchasing director, Markon Cooperative, Salinas, California, USA
• Maggie Bezart-Hall, sales & marketing, La Bonanza Avocados, Bath, MI
• Giampaolo Buso, sales director, PariPassu, Florianopolis, SC, Brazil
• Jim Byron, chief executive officer, Xgenex LLC, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA
• Tatiana Castro Perez, vice president of marketing, PPC Flexible Packaging, Miami, FL, USA
• Adam Cooper, senior vice president marketing, The Wonderful Company, Los Angeles, California, USA
• Lisa Cork, owner/director, Fresh Produce Marketing Ltd., Auckland, New Zealand
• Christian Corssen, chief executive officer, Compania Frutera Santa Maria S.A., Santiago Province, Chile
• Adrielle Dankier, commercial director, Nature’s Pride, Maasdijk, Holland
• Trevor Dukes, chief executive officer, The Fruit Farm Group, Stellenbosch, South Africa
• Karen Fernald, senior vice president, category, merchandising and pricing, Food Lion, Salisbury, North Carolina, USA
• Michael Franks, chief executive officer Seeka Limited, Te Puke, New Zealand; PMA Australia-New Zealand Chair
• Laura Himes, senior buyer, Walmart, Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
• Eric Li, vice president of global sourcing and alliance, Shanghai Yiguo E-Commerce Co., Ltd., Shanghai City, China
• Jenny Maloney, US food chain/sustainability manager, Bayer CropScience, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, USA
• Elizabeth Nardi, chief executive officer, Organically Grown Company, Portland, Oregon, USA
• Juliet Olivarria, vice president of produce, Sysco, Houston, Texas, USA
• Scot Olson, president of North/Northwest Division, Fresh Source, Santa Ana, California, USA
• Carlos Oramas, chief executive officer, Gems Group, Inc., Miami, Florida, USA
• Marc Oshima, co-founder & chief marketing officer, Aero Farms, Newark, New Jersey, USA
• Roberto Salazar Perez, deputy perishable director, Calimax, Tijuana, Mexico
• Don Sanderson, group vice president, fresh merchandising, Meijer, Walker, Michigan, USA
• Angela Santiago, chief executive officer, The Little Potato Company, Alberta, Canada
• Reade Sievert, vice president corporate produce, Associated Wholesale Grocers, Kansas City, Kansas, USA
• Michael Simonetta, chief executive officer, Perfection Fresh, Sydney, Australia
• Debora Steier, vice president of floral, Albertsons Companies, Boise, Idaho, USA
• Wyard Stomp, vice president sales & marketing, Driscoll’s, Watsonville, California, USA
• Dan Sun, co-founder, EcoQuest, Fremont, California, USA
• Ted Taylor, head of new ventures & business development, Taylor Farms, Salinas, California, USA
• Patrick Vizzone, head of food, beverage & agribusiness, ANZ Banking Group, Melbourne, Australia
• Mau Wah Liu, chairman of the group, Joy Wing Mau Group, Shenzhen, China
• Gary York, vice president, sales & marketing, Robinson Fresh, Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

Eight board members concluded their term of service and retired from the board, including:
• Bryant Ambelang, president and chief executive officer, NatureSweet LTD, San Antonio, Texas, USA
• Andrew Kennedy, co-founder, FoodLogiQ, Durham, North Carolina, USA
• Tommie van Zyl, chief executive officer, ZZ2, Limpopo, South Africa
• Kurt Vetter, president, Wonderful Sales, Los Angeles, California, USA
• Jin Ju Wilder, director of marketing, LA & SF Specialty, Santa Fe Springs, California, USA
• Gary Wishnatzki, president/chief executive officer, Wish Farms, Plant City, Florida, USA

About Produce Marketing Association
Produce Marketing Association (PMA) is the leading trade association representing companies from every segment of the global produce and floral supply chain. PMA helps members grow by providing connections that expand business opportunities and increase sales and consumption. For more information, visit

Contact: Cassidy Taylor, +1 (302) 781-5852